DAV Recognizes Outstanding Veterans’ Advocates in Washington

posted on

WASHINGTON—DAV (Disabled American Veterans) announced today the names of eight dedicated veterans’ advocates being honored for their outstanding efforts and achievements on behalf of the men and women who served. Federal executives, senators, representatives and congressional staffers are eligible for the honors that recognize commitment and excellence in service to veterans, their families and survivors.

“The recipients of this year’s advocacy awards have shown a true commitment to fighting for the best interests of veterans and their families. The past few years are a clear reminder that veterans deserve strong leaders who will go above and beyond in fulfilling the nation’s promise to them,” said DAV National Commander Moses A. McIntosh Jr. “It is a great honor to present these individuals with awards that recognize their critical contributions in the areas of veterans health care, benefits, policy and legislation.”


DAV Veterans Champion Award: The Honorable Patty Murray, Senate Committee on
Veterans’ Affairs, for her extraordinary leadership, commitment and accomplishments that meaningfully contributed to fulfilling our promises to the men and women who served, and their families and survivors.

Outstanding Federal Executive of the Year: The Honorable Carolyn M. Clancy, Department of Veterans Affairs, Deputy Under Secretary for Health, Organizational Excellence, for her efforts to strengthen and improve access to the VA health care system.

Outstanding House Legislator of the Year: Congressman Beto O’Rourke, House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, for his efforts to enact innovative legislation to improve the appeals process for veterans seeking earned benefits.

Outstanding Senate Legislator of the Year: The Honorable Mark Kirk, Chairman of the Senate MilCon-VA Appropriations Subcommittee for his efforts to ensure sufficient funding for veterans programs, benefits and services.

DAV Special Recognition Awards: Ms. Amanda L. Meredith, Deputy Staff Director and General Counsel, Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, for her longtime efforts to ensure veterans receive all the benefits they have earned; Mr. Ryan C. Pettit, Senior Advisor to Senator Patty Murray, for his efforts to advance legislation supporting caregivers and women veterans; Ms. Patricia M. Hayes, Ph.D., VHA Chief Consultant, Women’s Health Services, for her career efforts to improve health care services for women veterans; and Mrs. Margaret B. Kabat, National Director, VHA Caregiver Support Program, for her outstanding efforts to improve the benefits and services for caregivers.

ABOUT DAV: DAV empowers veterans to lead high-quality lives with respect and dignity. It is dedicated to a single purpose: fulfilling our promises to the men and women who served. DAV does this by ensuring that veterans and their families can access the full range of benefits available to them; assisting them with employment; fighting for the interests of America’s injured heroes on Capitol Hill; and educating the public about the great sacrifices and needs of veterans transitioning back to civilian life. DAV, a non-profit organization with nearly 1.3 million members, was founded in 1920 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1932.