Friday, March 31, 2017

Isakson Introduces Legislation to Increase Benefits for Veterans


Senator Johnny Isakson (above) is the Chair of the Senate Veterans Affairs Committee.  His office issued the following today:

Friday, March 31, 2017
Contact: Amanda Maddox, 202-224-7777
Marie Gordon, 770-661-0999

Isakson Introduces Legislation to Increase Benefits for Veterans
Joined by every Senate VA committee member in introducing bipartisan bill to boost veterans’ disability compensation, accommodate for cost-of-living adjustment

MARIETTA, Ga. – U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, this week introduced the Veterans’ Compensation Cost-of-Living Adjustment Act of 2017, bipartisan legislation to increase veterans’ disability benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).

“Our men and women in uniform have sacrificed greatly, and it is our duty to provide veterans and their families with the benefits they so rightly deserve,” said Isakson. “As such, we are working to ensure veterans’ benefits mirror rising living costs in our country.”

The bill, S.784, was co-sponsored by every member of the Senate VA committee and would increase the rates of VA disability compensation, dependency compensation for surviving children and spouses, as well as the clothing allowance for veterans based on rising costs of living.

This cost-of-living adjustment, which would be equal to the amount of the adjustment given to Social Security recipients, is determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Consumer Price Index on a yearly basis. The cost-of-living adjustment for veterans would go into effect on Dec. 1, 2017.

In addition to Isakson, the original co-sponsors of the Veterans’ Compensation Cost-of-Living Adjustment Act of 2017 are U.S. Senators Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn., John Boozman, R-Ark., Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, Bill Cassidy, R-La., Dean Heller, R-Nev., Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii, Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., Jerry Moran, R-Kan., Patty Murray, D-Wash., Mike Rounds, R-S.D., Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, Jon Tester, D-Mont., and Thom Tillis, R-N.C.


Description: Description: cid:image001.gif@01CB9C61.36E8FA70
Communications Director

131 Russell Senate Office Building | Washington, DC 20510
phone: 202.224.3643 | fax: 202.228.0724

Visit Johnny’s website to learn more about his work in the Senate and to sign up for his newsletter.